My Trip to Lovech

One of my best friends is originally from Lovech and she always invites me to visit her hometown. Last week I finally did this short trip. Lovech is a small and quiet city in north-central Bulgaria, so two days was enough to see everything I needed to. To be honest, the new part of the town didn’t impress me much. In contrast, the old part of Lovech has a rich cultural heritage and in my opinion, it’s is really a must-see!Lovech is one of the oldest towns in Bulgaria and it is best known for its medieval fortress. For more details go to bulgariancastles.com.The monument of Vasil Levski. He was a Bulgarian revolutionary and a national hero of Bulgaria.The Ethnographic museum is a must-see in Lovech!
“Between 1872 and 1874, the Bulgarian master-builder Nikola Fichev, known also as Kolyu Ficheto, built the famous Covered Bridge over the river Osam, the only one of its kind in the Balkans. The bridge was burned out in 1925, but rebuilt in 1931. Now it connects the new and the old part of the town and it’s full of cafes, small restaurants and many souvenir shops.” via wikipedia.orgIf you like this post then you might also like one of these:
My trip to Kalofer
Bulgarian Revival Architecture

12 responses

  1. thanks for sharing this, Nadia. These photos somehow make me feel connected to a part of the world I’m not very familiar with and now feel attracted to.

    Like

    15/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

    • This is great!! I am so happy you enjoy them, Warren 😉

      Like

      15/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

  2. Yes, thank you for sharing these, Nadia. Europe just has a charm that the US lacks – I’m less familiar with eastern Europe, and so am always excited to see photos of your travels.

    Like

    16/07/2012 at 12:41 AMJul

  3. These are lovely photos plus all of the information that you shared. Thank you

    Like

    17/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

  4. Beautiful Nadia

    Thanks for Sharing

    That woodwork in the bedroom (I think it’s a bedroom?)

    Is Amazing

    DJ-

    Like

    20/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

    • Actually this is a living room 😉 but yes, It looks a lot like a bedroom!

      Like

      20/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

      • Lol, Cool

        DJ-

        Like

        20/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

      • Ah, looked at it again, I thought that was a bed, Lol… But I think that’s the floor, which means there’s some padding at the bottom of the walls? (I thought those were pillows on a bed, Hee Hee)

        DJ-

        Like

        20/07/2012 at 12:41 PMJul

  5. Pingback: I ♥ Plovdiv « The ALZ blog

  6. Pingback: My Trip to Burgas « Alz Blog

  7. Pingback: The Glozhene Monastery « Alz Blog

  8. Pingback: Posts about Bulgaria | Alz Blog

What is your opinion?

