The Best of Shanghai Expo 2010

Expo 2010 Shanghai China was a major World Expo in the tradition of international fairs and expositions, the first since 1992. The theme of the exposition was “Better City – Better Life” and signifies Shanghai’s new status in the 21st century as the “next great world city”. It had the largest number of countries participating and was the most expensive Expo in the history of the world’s fairs. The Shanghai World Expo was also the largest World’s Fair site ever at 5.28 square km. By the end of the expo, over 73 million people had visited – a record attendance – and 250 countries and international organizations had participated. On 16 October 2010, the expo set a single-day record of having over 1.03 million visitors enter the exhibition that day. (via Wikipedia) Although 190 countries are participating in the event, only 79 nations built their own pavilion. Here you can see all the 79 pavilions. –> evolo.

Don’t forget to tell me which one you like the most!
My favorite one is the UK pavilion 😉

United Kingdom pavilion
Photography: © designboom

Interior views
Spain pavilion
Photography:  Iñigo Bujedo Aguirre/View
via Dezeen  Photography: Iñigo Bujedo Aguirre/View
via cubeme

Germany pavilion
Photography: © designboom
Italian pavilion
Photography:  arnewdePhotography: © IODICEARCHITETTI
via noticiasarquitectura
Norway pavilion
Photography:  designboom

Photography: John E. Kroll via e-architect.co.uk
Photography: Helen&Hard via e-architect.co.uk  “After the Expo each tree including the exhibition can be easily dismantled and erected at other locations as a shaded park installation, playground or social meeting place..” via e-architect.co.uk

Canada pavilion
Photography: archiseek
Denmark pavilion
Photography:  Iwan Baan, Hanne Hvattun,
and Leif Orkelbog-Andresen via contemporist

9 responses

  1. Love the bike piste in the Denmark pavilion!

    Like

    30/04/2012 at 12:41 PMApr

    • Yes, me too!! It’s a great idea..

      Like

      01/05/2012 at 12:41 AMMay

  2. It’s hard to pick one, they’re all amazing in different ways!

    Like

    01/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

    • 😉 I am agree!

      Like

      01/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

  3. Yes,I agree with you,british pavillion is the best !
    In fact,not too many interesting buildings,I think ))
    Some of them totally disappointed me,US pavillion for example,some were very funny – russian drunk skyscrapers ),some were completely invisible – bulgarian )) I can’t see it.

    Like

    01/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

    • Hi, Jarek!
      I completely agree with you! I was shocked when I saw all the pavilions! Some was literally hilarious!
      I also expected more from USA. Maybe next time (in Milan I think) they will be more creative 😉

      About the Bulgarian… I thought it was not built at all.
      I have no words to describe it. Just unbelievable!!

      “russian drunk skyscrapers” —> that was funny 😀

      Like

      01/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

  4. I love the Italian pavilion but not the actual building… It’s the model that I love (or I think it’s the model???). Anyway…that would make a great design for a coffee table! lol
    Olga

    Like

    02/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

    • Yes, it’s a model 😉 I like it too!!
      I am glad that this model inspired you to design a coffee table. You can try. I would love to see this idea realized! 😉

      Like

      02/05/2012 at 12:41 PMMay

  5. Pingback: More on the 1893 World’s Fair « Xingu, Volume 2

What is your opinion?

