Local Talented Photographer | Kiril Radulov

(BG) I am really happy that I finally made my first interview and I am so excited because the guy that I want to present you is a really, really talented young man from Sofia, Bulgaria. His name is Kiril Radulov and he is a freelance photographer. Check out this super interesting interview and don’t forget to take a look at his official website and his personal blog for more information and mind-blowing photos. All the copyrights are reserved !!
-First of all thank you for taking the time to answer my questions.
-It’s pleasure to me. Thank you for your interest in my work.

-When did you start working as a photographer?
-Around two-three years ago.
-Do you have a degree in photography?
-No I don’t. I learned everything I know from books I bought about different types of photography. But mostly I shoot by feel. I never use the exact same settings when taking pictures.
-How important is for Bulgarians to have a professional photographer in their events or assignments?
-There are people who value the work of a professional photographer, be that for events or assignments, but most try to cut on expenses and call somebody who will not charge them. Wedding photography is a huge business in Bulgaria. There are literally hundreds of photographers trying to get a piece of the action.
-What is your favorite type of photography?
-Architecture, landscape and portraits. I always try to choose one of them that I like the most, but they each give me a different sensation and challenge. 

-How did your love of photography began and what made you decide to go into architecture photography?
-It happened spontaneously, I got my first point and shoot camera 5 years ago, it was a present  for my birthday. I started experimenting with different angles and settings. But as you know those types of cameras have limitations. So next  year I got my first dslr, and from then on I was hooked on photography. Architecture in particular I like because of its geometry, and because of the endless creativity of the architects.
-Which cities have you visited? I guess the number is huge? Tell us the names of the cities first and then give us some information for each one.
-Venice, Verona, Milan, Pisa, Florence, Rome, Nice, Cannes, San Marino, Monaco, Paris, Munich, Saltsburg, Vienna, Prague, Budapest, London, Saint Petersburg, New York, Flagstaff, Las Vegas..
They are so many and I keep on adding more to the list every year. I will start chronologically with Venice, Italy. Venice was the first town outside of Bulgaria that I visited, I was so struck by the history and richness of detail on the buildings. It’s one of those places that you fall in love with for the rest of your life. The narrow labyrinths of streets that take you around the city, many times end in one of the canals with no bridge for you to cross, and you have to go all the way back. I definitely want to go back there. The first time I wasn’t a photographer, the second time I had just bought my first camera. So suffice to say I don’t have that great many pictures from there.
Next on the list is Verona, the town of Romeo and Juliette, Pisa with it’s gorgeous tower and cathedral. Florence with the Piazza del Duomo. And of course Rome, we can’t forget Rome. Such an amazing city, when you go through it’s streets you go through thousands of years of history. Paris is such an amazing city, I loved it. It’s one of the few places that I would never get tired of going back to. The city has so many faces, and it looks totally different  during morning, noon and night. Early in the morning the city is still asleep, café’s are opening, roads are being cleaned, it’s a way to see it without all the tourists swarming over it. I personally love the “Montmartre” district, strolling through the small streets, you get a totally different feeling of Paris, compared to the busy boulevards and the flashy boutiques.
Saint Petersburg is so grand! The scale of everything is mind-blowing. They have 8 lane boulevards going through the city, 8 lanes, can you imagine? And the sidewalks are the widest I’ve seen to date. It’s a very busy city, there are traffic jams until 3am. The way I like to describe it, is a mix between Vienna and Venice, multiplied by 10 for size and quantity, and the “white nights” make it even more special…а
-Wow, You make me want to visit Saint Petersburg (but in the summer time) 😀 One of my favorite gallery of yours is the one, taken in USA. From the pictures I can feel that this experience was really special for you? ( Really soon we will make a post about these photographs, stay tuned! )
-The blueprints for that trip where laid out a few years back, more as an idea, or wishful thinking, not as a real plan. I was saving money for around a year so I can buy the ticket, got the visa, and it was happening. It was the longest time that I’ve spend away from home, and I was also on my own almost the whole time, so it was definitely something new and special for me. I tried to make the most of it in terms of pictures, but there always are limitations. The distances in the US are huge, and the lack of a car makes it difficult to see more places.
-Are there more places to visit in the USA? Do you have a plan to go back there for more pictures?
-The States are so vast, and there is so much left to see. The question isn’t if, but when I will be going back. And the answer of that question is purely financial.
-What is your next destination?
-The next country I’m going to visit is Poland, which will be in April, and after that probably Istanbul.
-Oh, Istanbul … Make a promise that you will give us all the details about your future adventure in Istanbul 😀  What about  photographs of Bulgarian cities?
-Of course I will, as soon as I get back! In Bulgaria, I’ve concentrated on nature and landscape, not so much in architecture, but I will be trying to correct that in the foreseeable future.
-Do you go to take pictures of Sofia sometimes?
-I can’t say that I do that much, I like walking through the city and admiring it, but I haven’t taken that many pictures of it, isn’t that strange?!
-What is the “Must see” place in Sofia?
-I think that a must see for anyone visiting Sofia, is a long walk through the center at night, you can really appreciate the city that way.
-Yes, I recommend this too. You told me that you have participated in an exhibition of architectural photography?
-Yes, It was an exhibition for charity, the money from the sales went for the restoration of old churches in Bulgaria.
-How important is the processing of the pictures for having  good results? Is it possible to take a great picture without having an expensive camera with many functions on it?
-As we’ve seen with pictures from the beginning of the 20th century, you don’t need a digital camera or fancy options on your camera to take a great picture. What you need is an understanding of light, composition and a vision.
And on the second question, yes with some understanding of processing software you can get great results.  The biggest difference is in the sharpness and the level of noise in the picture.
-Is the processing of the pictures absolutely necessary ?
-It’s best if you achieve the desired result straight from the camera. I’ve taken many pictures that don’t need any processing. But for others, it’s impossible to achieve my vision without editing, what I try to show in my pictures is my perspective on things, not reality.

-Have you ever thought of working as an architectural photographer?
-If I am given the chance, to travel around the world and do that. Of course, why not. I would love that.
-Is there any professional architectural photographers in Bulgaria these days? I think there are not much photographers who want to focus on architecture in Bulgaria probably because we don’t have Bulgarian architectural magazine to buy their copyright?
-Honestly I’m not that familiar with the scene in Bulgaria, but I’m sure that there are a lot of talented people out there. It will be nice to have an architecture magazine in Bulgaria, but I doubt that they will have photographers on their pay roll. They will probably just buy images online, it will be cheaper for them.

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Младите български таланти | Кирил Радулов « The ALZ blog

  2. Angel carrying cross is particularly impressive wow! Great pics!

    Like

    13/03/2012 at 12:41 AMMar

    • It’s one of my favorite!!! ❤
      Thank you for this comment. It was nice to hear your thoughts!! 😉

      Like

      13/03/2012 at 12:41 AMMar

  3. Wow, I love the photography! Simply amazing 🙂 Great interview too 😉

    Like

    24/04/2012 at 12:41 PMApr

    • Thank you. I am glad you like it! 😉

      Like

      24/04/2012 at 12:41 PMApr

  4. Really enjoyed reading your blog, look forward to returning to read more.

    Like

    09/07/2012 at 12:41 AMJul

    • Thank you so much!!

      Like

      10/07/2012 at 12:41 AMJul

What is your opinion?

